New Work

Hello again. I’m sorry it’s been a while since I’ve updated here, the past couple months have been crazy. I’m currently writing from Marfa, TX where I’m doing an internship with the Chinati Foundation. I’ve only been here for a week but it’s been wonderful. Some other exciting news: I got my first artist residency in Iceland. I’ll be there from Nov 2011 to the end of Jan 2012. There’s more info here, Skaftfell.

Ok, so what I’ve posted here is some images of my new work from the past few months at my studio in KC. The work has grown in size and I also made a larger-scale temporary installation  called “Rubbernecker.” Enjoy!

 

Untitled (explosions) 8.5 x 9.5 x 1.5” Chamois, altered photograph, tic tacs, paint.

Untitled (Thermos) 19 x 16 x 4” Found thermos, caster, used paint roller, found postcard, ladle, plastic sushi, rubber bands, paint.

Xmas 24x16x67” Painted Christmas lights, hardware

 

"Fatso" Kids chair, burlap, book pages in altered folder, tic tacs, super glue, paint. 19x27x13”

 

"Fatso- detail of Tic Tacs.

"Fatso" Detail from above.

 

"Rubbernecker" Bean bags, chair, sleeping bag, rope, coat hook, sponges, boombox, chamois, rubber ball with altered packaging, toy clamp, tape, paint, and loop of the “Boo Boo Song” 83 x 35 x 33” by King Coleman.

 

"Rubbernecker" Detail

 

"Rubbernecker" Detail

 

"Rubbernecker" Detail

 

"Rubbernecker" Detail

 

"Rubbernecker" Side view

These next couple images are of some “sketches” I was doing just before I left KC. They’re not meant to be finished pieces, but more like experiments.

 

Untitled Sketch with Tic Tacs and superglue

 

Untitled Sketch with Tic Tacs and superglue (detail)

Untitled Sketch with blue and white Tic Tacs (Half circle)

 

Untitled Sketch with Brown Paper Bag and superglue

About Matt Jacobs

Matt Jacobs is an artist and writer based in Kansas City, Missouri. He holds a BFA in Sculpture and Art History from the Kansas City Art Institute. His work has been exhibited internationally in Iceland and Italy as well as throughout the U.S. including Texas, California, and New York. In addition to maintaining a studio practice, Jacobs also pursues critical activities such as writing and curating. He has curated several exhibitions in the Kansas City area including “Twenty Something” at City Arts Project and at the H+R Block Artspace’s Biennial Flatfile exhibition. His writing has appeared in Art Tattler, Review Magazine, and Glasstire.
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Work

  1. Jordan says:

    Your work is very interesting!!!!. I have seen you in Arts 21.Keep up and best of luck
    to you!

    • Matt Jacobs says:

      Thanks so much! I’m glad you like it and have seen the Arts 21, that was a fun program to work with. Best wishes to you as well.

      • Jordan says:

        Yes I do like it..For some they might find your work different,but for an artist I can see how you convey your
        messages to your audience by means of your artistic
        skills. Do you combine video and sound installation in your
        sculpture?. I would like to get in touch with you if it is ok
        with you?. I was referring that I saw you on Arts21 when
        they featured Chinati Foundation,at first i thought the foundation is based in Germany, but it was in Texas. But keep up the good work, you inspired me!. 🙂

  2. Pingback: juliabailey.info » Archive » Matt Jacobs

Leave a Reply

