Teenage girls, face-houses, and a seal to boot…

A frozen waterfall at the edge of town.

Beautiful Seydisfjordur, that funky metal sculpture is an outline of the fjord set upright.

Sorry it’s taken me a while to post again. My internet access here is delicate and I went through a bit of a crisis where I thought I lost it altogether. I hate to be so dependent on the internet, but since it’s my only connection to the outside world (and thus my sanity), maybe you can understand my panic. Anyway, I’m back up and running now.

For a sleepy little town during the holidays, this was actually an eventful week. I taught a workshop to local school kids. We looked at some of my work and artists I’m interested in who were using everyday objects in clever and meaningful ways. B. Wurtz, Michael Johansson, Tony Feher, and of course Erwin Wurm’s ‘One Minute Sculptures.’ Then, using a bunch of stuff from the supply closet, I set them loose to make some sculptures. They were a little reluctant at first, but they got the hang of it. At the end of class I told them we had to find a way to put all of our bodies into the piece somehow. What followed was not unlike decorating a christmas tree…

Rachel Harrison eat your heart out!

Perfect artist pose.

Sculptures don't smile guys. No smiling

Aside from that class I’ve been working in studio quite a bit too. It’s funny how I came here intending to make a bunch of drawings but all I want to do is make the paper stand up. I’m still making drawings, but it’s these small sculptures that I’m most excited about now. It’s hard to tell how dependent they are on this green floor. Keep in mind that most of these are works in progress.

Some paper sculptures in the works

This one is just about finished. Working title is "Belly Flop"

Other highlights from the week: I FINALLY saw the northern lights! I didn’t manage to snap a picture, but I’m sure you’ve all seen enough pictures of them anyway. I was amazed at how quickly they moved. It looked like someone was on the other side of the mountain with a colored spotlight waving it around. Oh, there was also a concert this past weekend. The front man for Mugison, an Icelandic band (duh?), played a solo set. He was a great guitar player with an impressive voice. I’m sure he was funny too, but it’s hard to say for sure…he was speaking Icelandic the whole time, but the crowd was cracking up. Have you ever missed a punch line because you literally don’t speak the same language?

Some of the houses have faces

More face houses. This one is winking.

When it’s sunny here you really have to take advantage of it. So, even if the wind is strong it’s worth bundling up to go for a walk. On one such walk I spotted this Harbor Seal in-yep you guessed it- the harbor. At least I’m pretty sure it was a Harbor Seal, all you sub-artic marine biologists can correct me if I’m wrong.

Ooooooh, so that's why they call them 'Harbor Seals'

Chillin

Chillin

Iridescent clouds. I'm not sure why or how?

Well I guess that’s about it for now, you guys asked for more pictures so here you go. I’m off to Reykjavik just after Christmas so I’ll post some photos when I’m back. Thanks for tuning in, and Happy Christmas everyone!

About Matt Jacobs

Matt Jacobs is an artist and writer based in Kansas City, Missouri. He holds a BFA in Sculpture and Art History from the Kansas City Art Institute. His work has been exhibited internationally in Iceland and Italy as well as throughout the U.S. including Texas, California, and New York. In addition to maintaining a studio practice, Jacobs also pursues critical activities such as writing and curating. He has curated several exhibitions in the Kansas City area including “Twenty Something” at City Arts Project and at the H+R Block Artspace’s Biennial Flatfile exhibition. His writing has appeared in Art Tattler, Review Magazine, and Glasstire.
This entry was posted in Residency in Iceland and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Teenage girls, face-houses, and a seal to boot…

  1. Andrew Lyles says:

    Keep at it – i know you will !

  2. Wow! I’m officially jealous, although I can imagine you must feel pretty isolated there. I love the houses, the fjord, the seal…

  3. Matt Jacobs says:

    Thanks guys! More posts to come.

  4. Pam Zeller says:

    Very cool paper sculptures, Matt! I love the picture of the girls. It says so much. If I may comment on the most very cool iridescent clouds, I’m sure Tom Skilling would say that that is from lots of ice crystals in the clouds and the light from the sun, coming up or down, is bouncing off the crystals at the perfect angle to make them into an iridescent cloud. Very cool picture.

    Aunt Pam

  5. Sarah says:

    I want to see the Northern Light sooooo bad. Love the pictures. It looks absolutely stunning there. I hope to talk to you soon!
    xoxo Sarah

Leave a Reply

