Back in the USA

After another long travel session I’ve finally made it back to the USA. Actually, I’ve been back for about two weeks, so I feel fully acclimated now. To be honest, it feels good to be back. You know that saying: you never realize how good something is until it’s gone, well lets just say I’m try to appreciate all the good things now that I’m in KC again.

The good news is that KC is showing some love right back! This is shaping up to be a big year for me. I’ll be in the following shows:

Chop Chop – Two person show (featuring work from Iceland) with Lee Piechocki at Wonderfair Gallery in Lawrence, KS. February 24 – March 25. Opening Reception: (Final) Friday, February 24. 6-10 pm

Bemis Center Regional Juried Exhibition- Group show at the Bemis Center for Contemporary Art in Omaha, NE. March 2- April 7. Opening Reception: Friday, March 2 6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Playtime- Two person show with friend and studio-mate David Rhoads at City Art Project in Kansas City, MO. May-June. Opening Friday May 4th.

I’ve also been selected to do a project with Field Trip Publishing, and there’s a few other things that I’m still waiting to hear back on. Stay tuned for more!

Sorry for the shameless self promotion. This post was supposed to be about the show from the end of my residency in Iceland. I had an exhibition at Skaftfell’s Bookshop/Project space and documented the work later in their gallery (for obvious presentation reasons). Hope you enjoy the images.

This will be my last post about my residency in Iceland. Thanks to those of you for your comments and interest in my work/blog/life. I hope you’ll consider checking back in to see what I’m up to.

~Matt

About Matt Jacobs

Matt Jacobs is an artist and writer based in Kansas City, Missouri. He holds a BFA in Sculpture and Art History from the Kansas City Art Institute. His work has been exhibited internationally in Iceland and Italy as well as throughout the U.S. including Texas, California, and New York. In addition to maintaining a studio practice, Jacobs also pursues critical activities such as writing and curating. He has curated several exhibitions in the Kansas City area including “Twenty Something” at City Arts Project and at the H+R Block Artspace’s Biennial Flatfile exhibition. His writing has appeared in Art Tattler, Review Magazine, and Glasstire.
This entry was posted in Residency in Iceland and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back in the USA

  1. Sharon Dressel says:

    Wow Matt! Go for your dreams, life is too short not to. Hope all is well. Wonderful work!

Leave a Reply

